New England Regional Health Equity Council: Council Members

The Regional Health Equity Councils (RHECs) are independent non-governmental organizations located in ten regions of the country. Each council comprises leaders and stakeholders from both non-federal public and private sectors from within that region. Examples of sectors represented on the RHEC include academia, community based organizations, health systems, health insurers, state legislators, faith-based organizations, foundations, state government organizations, etc.

The RHECs' primary role is to initiate action to implement the goals of the NPA and therefore, advance the agenda to eliminate health disparities from the grassroots. The RHECs have been established to:
  • Identify key regional health inequity issues and drivers, and advance a responsive agenda.
  • Use the collective power of organizations represented on the RHECs to derive models for and promote cross-sector collaboration.
  • Initiate new and support existing regional policies and action to eliminate health disparities.
  • Leverage opportunities available through organizations and sectors represented on the council to address health disparities.
  • Convene regional stakeholders and partners to address regional health disparities issues.

Council Members

Angela Ankoma - Executive Vice President, United Way of Rhode Island (RHEC Co-Chair)
Rodrigo Monterrey - Deputy Director, Office of Health Equity, Massachusetts Department of Health (RHEC Co-Chair and Governance Committee Co-Chair)

Nathalie Ahyi Director, New Hampshire Health and Equity (H&E) Partnership
Maria Mercedes Avila - Associate Professor, Education Scholar Pathway, Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine, University of Vermont
Michelle Bicking - Executive Director, Hidden Acres Farm, Inc.
Chris Chanyasulkit Human Services Specialist, Brookline Department of Public Health (Communications Committee Co-Chair)
Charles E. Drum - Visiting Scholar, American Association of Health and Disability (Data, Research and Evaluation Committee Co-Chair)
Zach S. Dyer Deputy Director, Worcestor Division of Health (Governance Committee Co-Chair)
Christine F. Dyke - Program Coordinator, Health Coaches/Peer Leadership, Program Coordinator, Community Health Workers, Community Health Improvement, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Durrell Fox - CHW Health Equity Consultant, JSI (CHW Committee Co-Chair)
Martha Friedman - Refugee Health and Health Equity Coordinator, Office of Minority Health, Vermont Department of Health
Ralph Fuccillio President, DentaQuest Foundation
Anisha GillHealth Equity Program Coordinator, Rhode Island DOH
Barbara Ginley - Program Manager of Tobacco Prevention Services, Maine Health Center for Tobacco Independence (CHW Committee Co-Chair & Treasurer)
Linda B. Hudson - Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health and Community Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine / Vice Chair, NEAC NAACP Health Advocacy Committee
Rodrigo Monterrey - Deputy Director, Office of Health Equity, Massachusetts Department of Health (Governance Committee Co-Chair)
Taino J. Palermo - Program Director, Roger Williams University (Youth Committee Co-Chair)
Albert Pless - Program Manager, Men’s Health League, Cambridge Public Health Department (Youth Committee Co-Chair)
Wayne Rawlins - National Medical Director, Racial and Ethnic Equity Initiative, ConnectiCare
Dianne (Dannie) Ritchie Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine, Brown University Center Founder, Community Health Innovations of RI
Sabrina Selk - Director, Office of Health Equity, MA Department of Public Health
Michele Stewart-Copes - Principal, Health & Equity LLC
Kristin Sullivan - Manager, Public Health Systems Improvement, Connecticut Department of Public Health
Trinidad Tellez - Director, Office of Minority Health and Refugee Affairs; New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services 
Orlando Velazco - Director, Office of Health Equity, Public Health Systems Improvement, Connecticut Department of Public Health
Peter Wilner - Principal, PMW Consulting (Data Committee Co-Chair)
Emily Wilson - Instructor of Public Health & Pre-Health Programs Advising Coordinator, MCPHS University & Simmons College (Communications Co-Chair)